St. Louis Scott Gallagher Soccer Club

SLSG Represented at 2014 NPL Showcase

SLSG players at the 2014 NPL Showcase in Henderson, Nev.

HENDERSON, Nev. – St. Louis Scott Gallagher had three teams in action at the 2014 National Premier Leagues (NPL) Showcase in suburban Las Vegas on March 7-9.

The SLSG Illinois NPL U-16s and U-18s, as well as the SLSG Missouri NPL U-16s, took part in the inaugural showcase, which brings some of the top clubs in the country together for a weekend of elite competition.

The teams were accompanied by SLSG IL U-18 coach Jeff Besserman, SLSG IL U-16 coach Kyle Riebeling, SLSG IL NPL Director Shawn Hewitt, and SLSG MO U-16 coach Pat Barry.

“The Las Vegas showcase was a great and exciting opportunity for us,” Riebeling said. “It’s great to have quality preseason games to be able to effectively test and evaluate the team. There is also something to be said for the team traveling and staying together to build comradery, team unity, and a professional environment.”

46 teams, 35 clubs, and 12 different states were represented at the showcase. A full list of participants is included below.

The showcase format included one game per team each day, beginning at 9 a.m. on March 7 and concluding by 2 p.m. on March 9 at Heritage Park in Henderson, Nev.

The weekend’s games aimed to form new rivalries while allowing players to face opposition from different regions of the U.S. The showcase also served as the NPL’s first national scouting event, serving as an opportunity for U-16, U-17, and U-18 players to perform in front of collegiate coaches and scouts.

The NPL season begins April 5 when both SLSG IL and SLSG MO NPL teams will play host to sides from Chicago Magic and Michigan Wolves. The 2014 NPL Finals take place July 10-14 in Greensboro, N.C.

2014 NPL Showcase – Attending Clubs

Ajax United FC (CA)

Almaden SC (CA)

Blackhawks (AZ)

California Odyssey (CA)

California Odyssey South (CA)

Carlsbad Elite (CA)

Chicago Magic PSG (IL)

Crossfire Oregon SC (OR)

CZ Elite FC (CA)

Diablo FC (CA)

Dynamos Select SC (TX)

FC Wisconsin (WI)

Houston Express (TX)

Jacksonville FC (FL)

Los Angeles Premier FC (CA)

Las Vegas Neon FC (NV)


Madison 56ers SC (WI)

Michigan Wolves (WI)

Placer United (CA)

Pride SC (CO)

Sacramento United (CA)

SC Del Sol (AZ)

Sockers FC (IL)

Solar (TX)

Sporting BV (KS)

St. Louis Scott Gallagher (IL)

St. Louis Scott Gallagher (MO)

Stockton Monarcas FC (CA)

Tri Valley SC (CA)

Tynecastle FC (WA)

Walnut Creek SC (CA)